The Critiques of a Fangirl

Head in the Clouds. Heart in a Book. This is my Fangirling Nook.


5 Star Book Predictions for the Year // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 7

Published by

on

I don’t know why I a doing this to myself again as it has been well documented over and over again that I am very bad a actually predicting what books I would actually end up loving enough to rate 5 stars but looks like I am going to attempt and most likely embarrass myself again by giving this another shot this year.

I have a good feeling about my choices this year as the books I am adding to my list are mostly from authors I have previously read and loved and like usual the list has been curated from my yearly to-be read list and anticipated releases list and this year I have even added some series to the mix to shake things up.

So without further adieu let’s jump into my 5 star predictions for 2024

FROM MY YEARLY TBR LIST

Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff

I absolutely loved and adore the Nevernight Chronicles by Jay Kristoff, he is one of my favourite authors of all time and it is a shame that I have not read any of his other books but frankly out of all of them out there, this one has been a constant presence on my mind since it’s release and I cannot wait to get around to reading it!

Knowing Jay Kristoff, I know this book is going to be brutal and deadly and it is going to leave me shook a bunch of times and I love fantasy books like that so I have high hopes that this will be a new favourite or at least a new 5 star read!

Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo

I absolutely LOVE Ninth House by the author and I have very little doubt that the sequel will disappoint me in any way possible, tbh I am very excited to see what the author has in store for us given the stuff that happened in the previous book and the absolutely twisted ending! Plus having Darlington as a part of the cast is always a bonus 😉

Babel: An Arcane History by R.F. Kuang

R.F. Kuang is an author that has been on my radar for a long time, Babel is one of her most well loved and famous books which has made waves in the reading community and given the premise I can see why. I am a lover of dark academia books and have been actively looking for more books to read and this sounds right up my alley and has a great potential of ending up as a 5 star read.

Before Your Memory Fades by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

I have been broken and maimed by the first two books in this series and I have no doubt in my mind that book three is going to be equally as painful and brutal as the rest, I love how raw and truthful the author is about displaying emotions through his characters and he does not hold back any punches and basis past experience I know that this is very likely to end up as a 5 star read!

What you are looking for is in the library by Michiko Aoyama

This sounds prefect really, it has the cozy vibes and the cozy cover and the premise pulled me in the minute I read it plus I love a book about books and this is offering me a full library of that so, I have high hopes for this one as well!

I have not included any mangas or comics from that list on here as One Piece and Heartstopper are 5 star reads even before actually being read really.

Non-fiction books from my TBR are also not going to be making it on this predictions list as a novice to the genre, I am not very inclined to make any predictions for the same but I have high hopes for Ace by Angela Chen and You will get through this night by Daniel Howell.

FROM MY ANTICIPATED RELEASES LIST

Somewhere Beyond the Sea by TJ Klune

Reading The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune was like being wrapped in a warm hug, that book made me feel all sorts o happy feelings and I completely feel in love with the characters so I am pretty sure that the upcoming sequel to this cozy and insanely happy book is going to not only make me feel as happy as the last one but also make it to my top books of the year list for this year!

Empire of the Damned by Jay Kristoff

Pretty much everything I said above still applies, Jay Kristoff is a phenomenal author and I know that he can create a pretty brutal and heartbreaking series and despite not having much to go on, I have a feeling that I am going to love this series with all my heart plus the advance reader reactions has given me even more hope for an amazing sequel.

The Paring by Casey McQuiston

All of Casey McQuiston’s books so far have had an deep impact on my life and I tend to love everything she publishes, when I heard that CMQ4 was in the works I was anxiously waiting for the book release announcement and I am very happy to say that I am not disappointed by the reveal! I am insanely excited for the release of this book and I cannot wait to read it when i does hit shelves!

The Atlas Complex by Olivie Blake

Both the books in the Atlas Trilogy so far have been great reads but have failed to hit the 5 star mark, having barely fallen short of being amazing but given that this is the finale of the series, I have hopes that this will deliver the ending in a slightly better way than its predecessors and leave me shook to the core.

Father Material by Alexis Hall

This is the one that I was most hesitant to put on this list majorly because I have a very tumultuous relationship with the series so far with Boyfriend Material being one of my all time favourites books and Husband Material being one of the biggest disappointments but last year I read 10 Things that never Happened by the author and I loved it so this book kind of rests in a weird state atm but I am trying to be optimistic here and am hoping that this book delivers and salvages the London Calling Series!

FROM MY SERIES TBR LIST

The Poppy Wars Trilogy by R.F. Kuang

The Poppy War series is one of the most hyped series on the bookternet community and it is definitely one that I am very interested in reading and devouring, I have heard nothing but great things about it from most people who have read it so it is safe to say that I am very excited to tackle the series and I have a feeling that it is going to be one of my all time favourites!

Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Talking about hyped and widely popular series on the bookternet community, it is very hard to miss talking about Six of Crows as it is one of those series that is universally loved and having read around 10% of book 1 a few years ago I can totally see why, it is a shame I have not read it yet but I can surely say that out of all the books on this list, this one has the highest chance of ending up on my 5 stars book list this year!

The Letters of Enchantment Duology by Rebecca Ross

I am so apprehensive about this as it is well loved and that makes me kinda scared about my reaction to it, on the one hand it has all the ingredients to make it a new favourite but on the other hand I am very worried that I will be expecting a bit much when I do read it, nevertheless given the premise of the story I am hoping that this will wow me as much as it has most people on the internet.

The Stolen Heir Duology by Holly Black

I love Holly Black and I also LOVE the Folk of the Air series so getting another one in that universe is a blessing, I have been an idiot in avoiding this for the last year but now with the series close to completion, I really am hoping to read it soon and am very hopeful that Oak’s story captivates me as much as Cardan and Jude’s did!

The Skyward Series by Brandon Sanderson

Have read and loved the first two books in this series, adding this on my 5 star prediction list was a no brainer really but I wanted to give it a shoutout and also attempt to shame myself in finally freaking picking it up and reading it! Like legit! I need to read this series asap! I adore the characters and the stakes are so high that there is nowhere to go but up for this series and I am hoping it keeps on delivering till the very end!

Stormlight Archive Series by Brandon Sanderson

I mean, it Brandon Sanderson, so of course if it is on my TBR, it is one my 5 star prediction list, though to be honest, I am very intimidated by the sheer size of this series and though I do love long books and even longer series this scares me at times but it is one that I am hoping to tackle before the release of the final book in the first phase of this series and knowing how much I adore Brandon Sanderson and his stories, I am not very worried about having this on my 5 star prediction list.

What are some books you are hoping to read in 2024 that you think will end up on your best books of the year list?

Wanna Chat? Follow me on :

3 responses to “5 Star Book Predictions for the Year // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 7”

  1. Wildwood Reads Avatar

    You have so many of my faves on this list! I hope you love them all!

    Like

  2. 24hr.YABookBlog Avatar

    hoping these are all 5 stars for you Mehek! the library book sounds so lovely & ahh so hyped to read all your thoughts on the YA series (hoping to reread and revisit six of crows during this year)! Fantastic post 😍

    Like

  3. Dini @ dinipandareads Avatar

    Great list! I see two on here that I’ve rated 5-stars and one is making it on my favourite reads this year already 😍 I hope your predictions come true!

    Like

Leave a comment