The Critiques of a Fangirl

Head in the Clouds. Heart in a Book. This is my Fangirling Nook.


Books I wanna reread in 2024 // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 8

Published by

on

And now we are at the last post for my beginning of the year series that has been going on forever really but hey it happens.

Also I usually post 10 posts but this year I had nothing to talk about in the last two posts namely my watch list and 2nd chance author list so I decided to end the series “early”.

I am a huge advocate of rereading books and whilst I do understand that there are so many more amazing books in the world to read, I also know the feeling of falling in love with the same story over and over again *cough* The Dresden Files *cough*.

So despite my never-ending TBR, I will continue to reread books because that brings me a lot of joy!

And since I am writing this so damn late at night, I am just going to jump into the post and talk about the 5 books I have been wanting to reread for a while

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I just wanna torture myself really because that is what rereading this would feel like but the beautiful and lyrical prose written by Madeline Miller has been a constant siren song beckoning me back to this heartbreaking book and honestly I need a good cry…….I need a therapist realistically but thats neither here nor there as sad books are my therapy!

Circe by Madeline Miller

I mean, if I am reading TSOA again, I might as well through Circe into the mix, this too was PHENOMENAL! However it did lose me towards the end somewhere as I was pretty emotional so I think a reread is definitely due especially after I pestered my local bookstore owner to source me a copy of the collectors edition.

And I will most likely be rereading Galatea too, it was a well written short story but somehow (as I was half a sleep when I did read it and see this is exactly why that is a very bad idea, past me!) it has completely evaporated from my brain, so I would really enjoy reading it again.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by VE Schwab

This has been on my rereading TBR and multiple TBRs since I read it back in 2021 but given how much I loved, I am genuinely terrified that rereading would not have the same charm and I don’t know what I will if that truly ends up happening so I have been procrastinating reading this forever, but I need to kick myself into gear and pick this up cause my soul is craving this story.

Skyward and Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

It is a damn shame that I have not completed this series as of yet, it is even more shameful that I have not read the novellas nor have I read book 3, Cytonic which came out nearly 2 years ago!!!!!!! *insert Sheldon Gif here*

So I purchased the books (still need to get my hands on Defiant) and will be rereading and annotating the shit out of it and I know I am gonna love it as Sanderson doesn’t disappoint!

Gideon the Ninth and Harrow the Ninth by Tamsym Muir

Pretty much the same applies here, I loved these two books with all my heart and I have been wanting to jump into Nona the Ninth but given the lack of updates on the release of Alecto the Ninth has made me hold off reading book 3 but I do miss the world and the absolutely hilarious and witty characters so it is about time that I dive back into it and in the mean time I will continue trying to manifest the release of book 4 in this series in 2024!

The Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher and All for the Game series by Nona Sakavic have not been mentioned in this post as reading them is a part of my life as natural to me as breathing (no I am not exaggerating) so I will be rereading them at some point this year and absolutely lose my mind about how much I love them on my blog when it does happen.

Also it is both hilarious and ridiculous that at the start of the post I mentioned that I wanted to reread 5 books but somehow ended up with 8 books on this list 😂😅

What are some books you are planning on rereading in 2024?

Wanna Chat? Follow me on :

One response to “Books I wanna reread in 2024 // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 8”

  1. Sophie @ Me & Ink Avatar

    I can’t believe I still haven’t read Song of Achilles! One day! But I hope you enjoy your re-read and prepare your heart!

    Like

Leave a comment