The Critiques of a Fangirl

Head in the Clouds. Heart in a Book. This is my Fangirling Nook.


Series I wanna read in 2024 // Beginning of the year 2024 – Day 3

Published by

on

Give me a choice between standalone and series, I would choose series every time!

I adore series, the amount of time you get to spend with the characters and in the world are just freaking phenomenal and I always end up getting super attached to the characters!

So it is a damn shame that I have been very bad at keeping up with reading series, last year I did better than I expected and I want to carry this momentum forward in 2024.

I have a whole bunch of series I wanna get to this year and though realistically I know that I won’t get around to reading all of them, I am hoping to get to at least 50% of the series I mention in this post.

I have a lot of series to talk about, so let’s jump into this post!

I have quite a lot of trilogies in my TBR, they tend to be the most popular series number and I love trilogies so I have tried narrowing down the ones I wanna get to this year to 5 (there is one more mentioned later in the post) and I am very excited to get around to reading them!

1. The Poppy Wars Trilogy by R.F. Kuang

The Poppy War series was insanely hyped when it first came out and it really sounded amazing, I have had it on my radar since then and used one Amazon Gift Card I received on purchasing the entire series, fast forward to 2024, I own all of her books but have read none!

The Poppy Wars series is high on my TBR as I am someone who prefers reading in publishing order and I have been feeling the call of this book for a while! So I am hoping to get to this in the first half of this year.

2. The Broken Earth Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin

I have no excuse for not reading this yet other than procrastination! Nevertheless, this is going to end up on my February TBR and I am definitely going to read at least the first book in the series in February!

It sounds phenomenal and I have heard nothing but good things about this series overall, so I need to get around to it!

3. The Daevabad Trilogy by S.A. Chakraborty

I have the Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi on my physical TBR, the paperback edition was too pretty to not purchase but I really wanna read this series before I get to that one coz as per my knowledge, both series are set in the same world and I like reading in publishing order when feasible!

4. Caraval Trilogy by Stephani Garber

I ended up getting Once Upon a Broken Heart in a book box a couple of years ago and I have been wanting to read that for a while but again as per the information I have received from the internet, it is imperative to read the Caraval Series before reading the latest series in the universe.

I already have all books from Caraval on my kindle and they do intrigue me plus have pretty rave reviews so I cannot wait to pick the series up!

5. Arc of the Scythe Trilogy by Neal Shusterman

I read Scythe ages ago and the uniqueness of the plot couple with the fascinating world and concept really embedded it self into my mind and I have been wanting pick this series back up for a while!

I will be rereading Scythe before I do pick it up as even though I remember most of the plot of book 1, a refresher wouldn’t really hurt tbh and I am excited to see where the series is headed!

It is not very like me to have so many duologies on my TBR but over the last few years I have accumulated quite a few on my goodreads want to read shelf and I would like to make some progress with them! I have collated a list of completed duologies I wanna get to this year!

6. The Letters of Enchantment Duology by Rebecca Ross

This duology took the bookternet world by storm in 2023 with Divine Rivals being heavily featured in pictures and best books list over the internet and to say that I was intrigued is an understatement! I am looking forward to reading the series and seeing what all the hype is about, it genuinely sounds amazing and the covers are to die for!

7. Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

I am embarrassed that I haven’t read this series yet, I even purchased the collectors editions to compel myself to read them but that did not work as well as I was hoping it to really!

But this year I will be getting around to reading it for sure, I really wanna know what the hype is all about and would love to get acquainted with few of the most famous and well loved characters in the bookish internet community!

8. Stranger the Dreamer Duology by Laini Taylor

I read Strange the Dreamer back in 2019 and really adored it but I never got around to reading Muse of Nightmares which is very surprising as the 1st book in this duology ended on a massive cliffhanger!

This duology is very well loved and it extremely whimsical and amazing to read so I am hoping to read it as soon as possible and I will definitely be rereading Strange the Dreamer soon!

9. The Stolen Heir Duology by Holly Black

I love the Folk of the Air series with all my heart so when this duology was announced I was looking forward to reading and even purchased the book as soon as it was released but to no ones surprise, I did not read it back when it was released but it has been calling to me recently.

I really wanna reread the Folk of the Air series, so I may just hit two birds with one stone and binge the entire series when the 2nd book in this duology released this year.

10. These Violent Delights Duology by Chloe Gong

I really want to know what all the hype surrounding this duology is about, I will be honest this duology does not intrigue me a lot and initially I was not inclined to read it but over the course of time and after reading so many rave reviews I was pulled into the hype and I wanna know why so many people love so I will be reading it sometime this year and hopefully I will love it and it may just push me to read more from the author!

Now we are entering the bigger series I have on my TBR with an addition of one trilogy as I forgot to mention it at the start and I like the 5 books division so I am not going to mess with it and we will just pretend that this is a massive series than a trilogy! So let’s jump into the series I wanna this year

11. The Skyward Series by Brandon Sanderson

I have read and loved the first two books in this series dearly and I have been wanting to get to reading the rest of the books in the series for a while but never really did so as I was not ready for the series to end, still am not but that is a whole another conversation!

I currently have the first two books in the series in physical format and I will be getting the rest very soon, my aim is to binge the series once I have all books with my physically and I know this is going to break me but I am ready for it…or not!

12. Stormlight Archive Series by Brandon Sanderson

I am ready to enter my Brandon Sanderson Era this year and though I have mentioned only this series from the Cosmere Universe in this list, I am also hoping to get around to reading Mistborn Era 2 trilogy this year but I am getting ahead of myself atm.

With the first arc (I think that is the correct term) of the Stormlight Archive series coming to a close with Book 5 being released in December 2024, it is time for me to tackle this series! I will be reading them later this year but I am excited to get around to reading them and seeing why this is as loved as it is, though I know that Brandon Sanderson always comes through and delivers a great fantasy novel!

13. The Empyrean Series by Rebecca Yarros

This is only one of the two ongoing series on my TBR as I really hate waiting for book releases but this is so hyped and well loved that I do not wanna be spoilt for the series going ahead so I am going to be reading the first 2 books in the series this year!

I am excited for the dragons as I LOVE dragons and the school aspect has me intrigued, I am also looking forward to the romantasy element that people cannot get enough of! I hope I end up loving it!

14. The Red Rising Saga by Pierce Brown

Another ongoing and well loved series on my TBR list for this year, I am hoping to get around to reading the initial trilogy this year, it sounds very fascinating and has rave reviews so I am hoping it lives up to the expectations and the hype!

I have a feeling that I am going to love it as it sounds amazing!

15. The Green Bone Saga by Fonda Lee

Finally, the last series on my 2024 Series TBR is the Green Bone Saga by Fonda Lee!

It sounds freaking phenomenal, is very well loved and is intriguing af! I have heard nothing but good things about it from various trusted sources and I am excited to give it a shot, plus the magic system sounds amazing!

I have no hopes of reading all these series this year but I am definitely hoping to get around reading at least 50% of these books in 2024!

I will be making a schedule of when I wanna tackle which book but I haven’t gotten around to doing that yet but hopefully will soon and I think having a defined series reading calendar may help in finishing these sooner rather than later.

What series are you planning to reading in 2024?

Wanna Chat? Follow me on :

9 responses to “Series I wanna read in 2024 // Beginning of the year 2024 – Day 3”

  1. 2024 Anticipated Releases // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 6 – The Critiques of a Fangirl Avatar

    […] have not read the Stormlight Archive series at all, like ever but it is one my priority series list for 2024 and I am putting this on my anticipated releases list for the year so that I can push myself to […]

    Like

  2. 24hr.YABookBlog Avatar

    what a great list of fantasy series on here! 🤩 There’s so many I’d love to catch up on & start this year also, the Jade City books is one of them!

    Like

  3. 2024 Reading Challenges // Beginning of the Year 2024 – Day 5 – The Critiques of a Fangirl Avatar

    […] taken an effort to reading bigger books, I have quite a few big books on my 2024 Yearly TBR and 2024 Series Reading List for the year so I am hoping that this year I will be able to read at least 12 books over 500 pages […]

    Like

  4. 5 Authors I Wanna Prioritise reading in 2024 // Beginning of the year 2024 – Day 4 – The Critiques of a Fangirl Avatar

    […] change that, Babel is on my 24 books I wanna read in 2024 list and The Poppy War Trilogy is on my 2024 Series TBR list plus I am putting a special focus on reading the authors work on this one so I am hoping and […]

    Like

  5. tasya @ the literary huntress Avatar

    Love this list! I love Six of Crows and Strange the Dreamer duology, especially the latter since it’s just so evocative and magical! I also have a couple of “big” series I want to read, namely The Daevabad Trilogy and The Greenbone Saga. Some other series I want to read is Shadow of the Fox series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thecritiquesofafangirl Avatar

      Oooo that’s great to hear! I can’t wait to get around to reading those duologies!

      I am also super excited to get around to reading Daevabad series and the Greenbone Saga, they sound so amazing!

      The shadow of the Fox series is freaking phenomenal! I hope you enjoy reading it ☺️

      Like

  6. Catarina @ Cozy Wander Tales Avatar

    You have SO MANY “big name” series in this list 🤯 I can only vouch for The Poppy War, Six of Crows and The Broken Eart but they’re so good!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thecritiquesofafangirl Avatar

      YAS! I am so damn excited to get around to reading all of the series I have on my the this year! They are all going to be amazing 🤩

      Like

Leave a comment