The Critiques of a Fangirl

Head in the Clouds. Heart in a Book. This is my Fangirling Nook.


December 2023 – In a Nutshell // 4 Books, 1448 Pages

Published by

on

It just hit me that I have not posted a single wrap up in the last 3 months, 4 if you include March.

My creative streak died as soon as it began and I have been barely doing any for any of my bookish content creation platforms which means I have fallen behind on lot of posts, pictures and more, I will speak more that during my 2024 first quarter wrap up though so stay tuned for that.

All things considered December wasn’t the worst reading month though, I did end up reading more than I expected and I read some pretty great books in December 2023.

So let’s chat about them for a little bit

READING WRAP UP

Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa

This was my best book of last year! It is incredibly well written and does not hold back whilst delivering one of the best series finale I have read in a long while!

The twists and turns, the high af stakes, the character journeys and the overall plot was freaking fantastic!

I was also insanely happy about how this book ended, it did a perfect job in not falling into the generic ending plot format which was highly appreciated!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

10 Things that Never Happened by Alexis Hall

Another book that ended up on best of the year list and this was one I was super apprehensive about reading as my previous experience with an Alexis Hall book was pretty terrible.

But I am happy to report that I absolutely loved it and it delivered the cutest and most perfect love story!

The plot was pretty generic but the characters, their dynamics and the budding relationships really made this book standout and Alexis Hall’s humour is pretty amazing!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

It Starts with Us by Colleen Hoover

It took me forever to actually start reading this book because I was just not able to get into it at all and I will be honestly, other than some cute moments between the two main characters, most of this book has disappeared from my brain.

I did love spending more time with Atlas though, he is a true gentleman and one of the best love interests I have encountered in a contemporary fiction in a while.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

This is How you Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

It is going to take more than just one read for me to completely comprehend what this book was because despite liking it, I am a little lost on a few things in the plot.

But I loved the premise and the way it was executed, it was addicting read and seeing how both these time-travelling lovers left a piece of themselves for the other to find.

The prose was beautiful to read and I am hoping to read it again soon to gain better understanding of the story.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

So that is it for my wrap up for the last month of the year! December really saved my Best Books of the Year 2023 post from feeling and being way too sad and I am glad I picked the books that I did!

How many books did you read last year? Let me know in the comments!

Wanna Chat? Follow me on :

One response to “December 2023 – In a Nutshell // 4 Books, 1448 Pages”

  1. Wildwood Reads Avatar

    I read 105 books last year but I don’t think I’ll be able to do that again this year lol.

    Like

Leave a comment