The Critiques of a Fangirl

Head in the Clouds. Heart in a Book. This is my Fangirling Nook.


Books I Did Not Finish (DNF) this year // End of the year – Day 5

Published by

on

It is very sad that when a book you are reading does not end up meeting being as good as you have expected it to be and what sucks more is when it just doesn’t hold your attention enough for you to wanna finish reading it!

I am 100% on team DNF, life is too short to read books that don’t vibe with you when there so many others that could end up as favourites!

I like to finish books and I hold on to the hope that the book I am reading will end up being good but there are a couple book this year that I just did not wanna read any further that where I last put them down.

Just a little disclaimer, I am in no way saying that these were bad books, just did not end up working for me.

So let’s talk about the two books that I DNF’ed in 2023

The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton

I think I am one of the few people that just do not gel with Stuart Turton’s writing style a lot and when I started reading this book I was just not able to get into it, I tried really hard but my brain dissociated every time I picked this up and I used to zone out and then I accidentally saw a spoiler on Goodreads and that sealed the deal for me.

I was not going to read a murder mystery novel already knowing who the killer was so I ended up DNF-ing it and that kinda sucked as I was looking forward to giving the author another try and this book had a really cool premise.

Stuart Turton is coming out with another book next year, I think, I may end up giving that a try.

The Bone Witch Trilogy by Rin Chupeco

I hated that this ended up being a DNF as I really wanted to love this so damn much but the story was so damn bland and boring! I hated it!

I know this is a very well loved series and maybe if I had stuck through the first book I would have reaped the results but I just couldn’t get into it in the slightest, even over 50% in I did not care about the characters, I had no interest in the plot whatsoever and I was never in the mood to actually pick up again after putting it down.

So instead of pushing myself to read it, I DNF’ed it at 55% and with it the entire series also ended up being DNF’ed.

I may come back to it though, maybe via audiobook, I have a friend who loves this so much and hearing her talk about it is kinda making me wanna give it another shot but I am not certain that I will be picking it back up, we shall see what happens.

What books did you end up not finishing in 2023?

Wanna Chat? Follow me on :

4 responses to “Books I Did Not Finish (DNF) this year // End of the year – Day 5”

  1. ClassicBhaer Avatar

    I feel like The Devil and the Dark Water is a book you have to be in a really specific kind of mood to get into. As for the Bone Witch I tried reading in a while ago and I had the same feelings, I just could not get into it as much as I tried. It bummed me out because I have heard such great things, much like you mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thecritiquesofafangirl Avatar

      So true! I had really high hopes for both of them 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Most Disappointing and Worst Books I read this year // End of the Year 2023 – Day 6 – The Critiques of a Fangirl Avatar

    […] qualify as disappointing read…and in retrospect I should have combined this post with my All the books I Did Not Finish in 2023 post but that is already uploaded so we will just stick to keeping these two posts […]

    Like

  3. Kal @ Reader Voracious Avatar

    I totally DNF’d The Devil and the Dark Water when I attempted to read my ARC of it years ago, and I tried SO HARD to read it, but it was like pulling teeth to get to even 10%. Super weird because I loved Evelyn Hardcastle, but happy to see someone else DNF this one.

    Like

Leave a comment